Who is the King Of IPL ?

Who is the King of IPL: The King of IPL or the IPL King is the most anticipated and highly anticipated T20 league, the Indian Premier League. IPL has seen hundreds of players over the years and 13 franchises participate. This glamorous cricket league has seen many kings. Many players, including Suresh Raina and MS Dhoni, have displayed outstanding performances. These players enjoy a large fan base and deserve to be named King of IPL.

According to the old saying, there is only one King. To answer the question of who is the King of IPL? it is Virat Kohli. Royal Challengers Bangalore's captain has scored 6283 runs over 207 IPL matches, a remarkable batting average of 37.4. This includes 40 half-centuries as well as 5 centuries. Only one IPL team has he played for, RCB. He is currently the captain. Many cricket fans support Virat Kohli as the IPL king. Kohli won the Orange Cap (highest scorer in a season) once in his career. He has also been the guiding light for RCB.

who is the king of ipl

Mumbai Indians is the undisputed leader of the IPL with 5 titles. The Chennai Super Kings, with four titles, is closely behind them.

Who is the King of IPL?

Basically, to answer this question that who is the king of IPL, we have to split it from two point of view that ,i.e., firstly player-wise and secondly team-wise.

Which IPL player is the King?

When we look at individual performances, Virat Kohli is undoubtedly the King of IPL. He is the IPL's highest run-scorer. There are however a few players who could be considered for this title. Let's learn more about each one of these top performers:

Virat Kohli

Kohli is currently the cricket captain for India. With 6283 runs scored in 207 matches, he is the IPL's highest run scorer. Kohli is the first Indian League batsman to score over 900 runs in one season. RCB reached the finals under his captaincy but has not won the trophy. Virat Kohli, the reigning IPL king, is the name that comes up when someone asks.

  • Runs in IPL: 6283
  • IPL title for a player
  • IPL title: 0
  • Orange Caps - 1

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is the skipper and has a win percentage of 59.82. Rohit Sharma is the opening batsman of Mumbai Indians. He has also been one the five IPL batsmen who have scored more than 5000 runs. He was also awarded 5 trophies for captaining MI and 1 as a Deccan Chargers teammate.

  • Runs in IPL: 5611
  • IPL titles for a player : 6
  • IPL titles for captain: 5
  • Orange Caps 0

Chris Gayle

Whenever we talk about IPL King, one name which we can't forget to mention is the destructive Caribbean opener Chris Gayle. Yes, with the highest IPL score of 175*, which is the highest in any T20 game, which included a whopping 17 sixes, and the fastest one as well (only 30 balls taken to reach his century),Chris is another top contender for the IPL King.
  • Runs in IPL: 4965
  • IPL titles for a player:0
  • Orange Caps: 2

MS Dhoni

CSK's wicket-keeper batsman is MS Dhoni (captain of Chennai Super Kings), Dhoni was the captain of CSK, winning it four times: in 2010 and 2011. And again in 2018 and in recent 2021. His record as IPL captain has been outstanding and he is often considered one of the greatest players to ever have played in the IPL and in the cricket world.

  • Runs in IPL: 4746
  • IPL titles for a player: 4
  • IPL titles for captain: 4
  • Orange Caps 0

Suresh Raina

Raina, also known as Mr IPL, is a core member of the Dhoni led CSK team. Raina held the record of the IPL's most runs for the longest time, before Kohli took over. Raina currently ranks as the third-leading run-scorer of IPL history. Raina is also the top run-scorer during the playoffs as well as the finals. Raina, a member of the Dhoni-led CSK Team, has won three IPL trophys.

  • Runs in IPL: 5528
  • IPL titles for a player:4
  • Orange Caps0

Which team is the king of IPL?

It is clear that the Mumbai Indians team is the King IPL. The IPL title was won five times by Mumbai Indians under Rohit Sharma's captaincy. This led to calls for Virat Kohli to be replaced with Rohit Sharma in international cricket. The title was won five times by Mumbai Indians in 2013, 2015 and 2017, 2019, and 2020. The team initially had a pattern of winning the league in odd-years, but in 2020, it broke that pattern with a win. The answer to the question of who is the king in IPL for teams is Mumbai Indians.

who is king of ipl

Sunrisers Hyderabad won the 2016 and the Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings took home the 2018 trophy. The second most successful Indian Premier League team is Chennai Super Kings, which has won the trophy in two consecutive seasons. We will now discuss which IPL teams are the best.

Mumbai Indians

Although the Mumbai Indians may have started their campaign in IPL slow, they soon caught up and were able to win. Rohit Sharma was the Mumbai side's champion five times, including in 2013, 2015 and 2017, 2019, and 2020. Mumbai's dominance has meant that every time they reached the final, they won.

  • Wins IPL – 5
  • Years of wins 2013, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2020
  • Rohit Sharma is the winning captain

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai ruled the tournament for the longest time before Mumbai seized control. The MS Dhoni-led team won the title in 2010,2011,2018 and 2021, and qualified for the final 9 times, which is a record. While they didn't have the best time in 2020, they had a great season in 2021 as they won the season.

  • Wins IPL – 4
  • Years of wins 2010, 2011, 2018,2021
  • Winning captain MS Dhoni

Kolkata Knight Riders

With two trophies in 2012 and 2014, Kolkata is the third most successful IPL team. They have never been able qualify for the final in any other season, but Kolkata is a side you cannot underestimate. Eoin Morgan has currently lead them in the IPL.

  • Wins IPL – 2
  • Years of wins 2012, 2014
  • Winning captain Gautam Gambhir


As, we know IPL 2022 auction is about to come and IPL 2022 will also start soon . We'll soon be able see ten franchises from cities in action. The question of who is the IPL king might change over time, but it's certain that till today Virat Kohli is currently the winner and Mumbai Indians as well.

We will hold another mega auction in the IPL season where many players will be shuffled. Let's find out which bag one of these kings carries.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post